News:

The official blog of the Animal Toy Forum is now LIVE! Check it out at Animal Toy Blog!

Main Menu

Disclaimer: links to Ebay.com and Amazon.com on the Animal Toy Forum are often affiliate links, when you make purchases through these links we may make a commission.

A prototype of Type C orca

Started by caipirasuchus, April 01, 2023, 01:13:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

caipirasuchus

Hey guys, let's talk about orcas.

I'm a Brazilian researcher living in Germany for some months. As it's very difficult to obtain good models in Brazil, I have a limited time and budget to start a collection prior to my return. Inspired by this amazing review, I decided to combine my fascination with cetaceans and the Antarctic and collect whales... Antarctic whales.

No problem with the minke and sperm whale. But then I have to choose an orca. For me, the problem with this species is that they never have a realistic paint job: it appears that its coloration pattern is so iconic that just reproducing it in any way is enough.

As I want an Antarctic orca, I decided to buy a Wild Safari Sealife miniature and try to customize it. This model, a male, has a pretty look, its proportions are realistic (not oversized head, large pectoral fins) and, to be honest, its paint job is very decent. For Antarctic forms, it can be fairly assigned to a type A ecotype.

Orca (0.1).jpg
A very nice miniature about to be messed up

The problem is that type A is a huge orca, one of the largest ecotypes. To put this 14.73cm long model on the same scale of my 1:40 minke and sperm whale, we have to consider that it represents a 5.8m individual. It's a very small size for an adult male orca, and the only ecotype which fits in this proportion is the type C, the Ross Sea killer whale.