News:

The official blog of the Animal Toy Forum is now LIVE! Check it out at Animal Toy Blog!

Main Menu

Disclaimer: links to Ebay.com and Amazon.com on the Animal Toy Forum are often affiliate links, when you make purchases through these links we may make a commission.

Rainbow fishes

Started by OkapiBoy, February 23, 2013, 09:07:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

OkapiBoy

I figured this will be the “general” thread for all the other fish since we already have one dedicated to deep water and ancient species. Sharks will not be included here, too, since they are a big group and already have their very own thread (although they do make an appearance here and there ;).
As a tropical fish hobbyist ( I own a tropical marine reef tank), I am fascinated by the diversity of fishes. I have always kept a fish tank since I was a kid, and I also love fishing. I am also an artist, and fish is the central focus of my art (I do fish prints or Gyotaku).
Fish have been around for a very long time, far longer than the famous dinosaurs. In fact, they reached such high diversity during the Devonian period that it is often dubbed the “Age of Fish”.
The diversity of species is astounding, and range in size from small to true giants. They exploited all the various watery environment, from rivers/streams, lakes, swamps, pools, tropical, freezing, fresh water, and marine.
Fishes come in dazzling colors and shapes, thus are popular subject for toy manufacturers.  To date, my collection is small, consisting mostly of small Japanese figures. So, I am hoping to see some of your beautiful collection of fish!
[

Bonus:The ancient fish

Varanus

Very impressive assemblage OkapiBoy! :o 

sauroid

here's some of my fish collection:

brontodocus

Very nice, sauroid! :) Hehe, your Kissing Loaches are almost kissing... :-* ;D

copper