News:

The official blog of the Animal Toy Forum is now LIVE! Check it out at Animal Toy Blog!

Main Menu

Disclaimer: links to Ebay.com and Amazon.com on the Animal Toy Forum are often affiliate links, when you make purchases through these links we may make a commission.

Where do you draw the line?

Started by Mitsukuni, January 06, 2020, 04:30:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mitsukuni

Hello everyone! I've been collecting on and off for many years but only recently joined the forum. I've struggled in the past with collecting because I've felt overwhelmed with the amount of figures out there, and how to obtain them, and where to draw the line with my collection, and a couple of years ago I ended up selling my entire collection (mostly comprised of Schleich) off. At that time I kept three striped hyena figures I had but stopped actively collecting. Fast forward to a few months ago and I'm again actively collecting but only striped hyenas, I have a small collection now and am working hard to expand it :)) I'm also planning on collecting select models of spotted hyenas, African wild dogs, wolfs, and wildebeests/gnus in the future.
So to finally get to the question I wanted to ask you guys, where do you draw the line with your collections? I noticed some forum members seem to collect every figure they can find, do you have some figures you wouldn't add to your collection? Certain brands? Do you not collect certain materials figures are made with like composition, rubber, wood, or plush? Some members like myself collect specific species or types of figures, where do you guys draw the line? Again are there certain materials you don't include in your collections? Some brands? Are some figures too unattractive / inaccurate for you to add? Do you only collect figures made in particular time periods i.e. figures made from 1980 - present?